Instagram Will Now Guilt Bullies into Revising Their Comments

Instagram Will Now Guilt Bullies into Revising Their Comments

Instagram Will Now Guilt Bullies into Revising Their Comments

By Posted Jul 09, 2019 in Instagram News/ Social Media News

Instagram is a visual platform and people lots of personal photos on a daily basis. Since they are putting themselves on the spot for the public to see, there are bound to be negative comments. These comments can be based on jealousy, hate or just because of the case of being a jerk. But either way, they can really down your spirits. In fact, bullying on Instagram has caused many people to go in clinical depression.

Instagram is trying to prevent that from happening as less as possible. In that regards, the Facebook-owned service has now introduced two new features.

The first one is that when a bully posts a hateful comment, instead of the comment being posted right away, they get a notification: “Are you sure you want to post this?” And then they have the option to ‘undo’ the comment before it gets posted.

Does it seem enough? Not to us. The true bullies will not take heed of this pesky little notification. This will not get in the way of them spreading negativity. But, that’s just our opinion.

According to Adam Mosseri, head of Instagram:

“From early tests of this feature, we have found that it encourages some people to undo their comment and share something less hurtful once they have had a chance to reflect.”

So, there’s that. Maybe it’ll work better than expected. We’ll see.

The next feature that Instagram introduced is restricting bullies. How this works is that if the bully doesn’t get deterred by the notification and posts the hateful comment on a picture, the post uploader has the option to restrict that bully. Instagram realizes that standing up to a bully is not easy:

“We’ve heard from young people in our community that they’re reluctant to block, unfollow, or report their bully because it could escalate the situation, especially if they interact with their bully in real life. Some of these actions also make it difficult for a target to keep track of their bully’s behavior.”

So, the feature that they will start testing soon will make sure that the person you restrict doesn’t get notified. The comments they post will be visible to only them unless you approve them so the others could see. Also, the restricted person will not be able to see when you’re online on Instagram and whether or not you’ve seen their DMs.

“It’s our responsibility to create a safe environment on Instagram. This has been an important priority for us for some time, and we are continuing to invest in better understanding and tackling this problem.”

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What our Client says About
LiftLikes.com