WhatsApp Now Lets You Delete Sent Messages from Both Ends
By Alex Neil Posted Oct 30, 2017 in Social Media News
Up until now, the delete messages feature in Facebook owned WhatsApp was kind of useless. It would only come in handy when you are trying to hide your chat from people who can access your phone at any time. But before now, there was nothing that would let you retract your sent messages from the receiver’s end.
It’s a feature that we had all wished from time to time. Like when the message gets sent to a person that it wasn’t meant for because you have multiple active chats at the same time. Or like something get said in an emotional fit and we regret and want to take it back before the other person sees the message. Well, now you can delete those unwanted messages entirely from conversation. It even works if you are deleting your message from a group chat as well.
The company explained the feature this way:
To delete messages for everyone
Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.
The seven minute is kind of a short window. It would have been nicer if we could delete the message whenever we wanted, just like Skype. But we will take what we get. There is also another catch and that is that the receiving party should have the latest version of the app installed. If their app is not up to date, the feature would not work.