We give you more

Facebook Likes.

Twitter Followers.

Instagram Followers.

Google+ Votes.

Youtube Views.

Check Our Pricing

7 Most Common Delusions About Facebook

By Alex Neil Posted Dec 08, 2015 in Facebook Marketing/ Social Media Marketing

facebook myths

With over 1.5 billion active users, Facebook is now larger than any social media platform out there. With so many people sharing their thoughts and beliefs, there are bound to be misleading rumors and misconceptions surround Facebook.

These rumors are so unbelievably believed that it’s somehow difficult to verify which one is fact and which one isn’t. Here are 7 of the most believed misleading rumors about Facebook and maybe you believe one or more of them too!

1# You Can See Who Stalked Your Profile:

Fb Myth 1

Despite what numerous third party apps would have you believe, you cannot track who views your account whether they are your friends or random public. You just cannot.

In fact, Facebook issued a notice in this regard:

“No, Facebook doesn’t let people track who views their profile. Third-party apps also can’t provide this functionality.”


“Facebook doesn’t let you track who views your profile or your posts (ex: your photos).”

2# Facebook Will Begin To Charge You Money:

On Facebook’s login page, it says:

“It’s free and always will be.”

But despite this, more often than not, some people believe that if they don’t do certain things like putting up a post claiming that I’m a loyal Facebook user or something, Facebook will start charging money for using it for personal use.

Hard to believe, isn’t it?

But it spread so fast and so widely that Facebook intervened by saying:

“While there may be water on Mars, don’t believe everything you read on the Internet today. Facebook is free and it always will be.”

3# Facebook Sells Your Photos and Posts To Advertisers:

This is really the most widely believed myth. In fact many people do not post their photos on Facebook for the fear that they will be used by Facebook. While you may have found some edited photos of yourself on Facebook, it’s done other Facebook users and definitely by Facebook itself!

And if you see your face or a post you shared on Facebook on an advertisement of Facebook, it is not because they sold it to advertisers, it is because you gave them permission to use your photo or post for their advertising when you signed up for Facebook. It is written plain and clear in their terms and conditions page and they do not need to pay you anything.

You own the copyrights to all the photos that you shot and stuff that you posted. Facebook does not sell it. According to Facebook:

“No, we don’t sell any of your information to anyone and we never will.”

4# Posting a Copied Notice Will Change Things:

fb Myth 3

This notion is really ridiculous because think! How will your posted ‘notice’ on your Facebook wall will somehow ensure that Facebook will heed it?

This gem is the example:

“As of December 3, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me.”

Seriously. Even one of your own friends may have posted it one time or another. I know, mine did.

If you want to know what Facebook can or cannot do, kindly check out their terms and conditions. If they are not what you want and you cannot compromise, you have the option of leaving Facebook altogether.

fb myth 2

5# Facebook Accounts Cannot Be Deleted:

This is also a really common misconception that you cannot delete your Facebook account once you have created it. Well, Facebook dedicates and entire page for the deactivation and deletion of Facebook accounts. So, you might want to check that out.

Facebook takes 2 weeks to delete your account and Facebook activity from all of your friends’ accounts and your liked pages. Also, you have to manually log out of Facebook from all the other websites that you signed into using your Facebook account. You will also have to log out of Facebook apps and delete the Facebook and Messenger apps from your mobile and tablet. Still, according to Facebook, deleting every incident in which you took part through your Facebook account may take months.

And if you somehow accidentally logged into your Facebook account before the two weeks are over? You will have to delete everything again.

Doesn’t sound fun but rest assured, it is possible to delete your Facebook account.

6# Due to ‘Over-Population’ Facebook will Delete Inactive User Accounts:

This rumor spread on and off from time to time but it really increased earlier this year when Facebook announced that it will remove fan-page likes from inactive accounts. People assumed that Facebook will remove inactive user accounts which was not what this was about at all.

Why would Facebook delete its own user accounts? If nothing else, they still appear in the total users statistics.

7# Facebook is getting a Dislike Button:

While it may be long awaited and anticipated by most Facebook users, Facebook is not getting a dislike button. In a recent press Q&A session, Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook CEO) mentioned that an empathy button may emerge soon that will be better able to express your emotions over a certain post. But a dislike button will not be there because it will destroy the positivity of the Facebook community and that would be counter-productive.

So, did you believe any of these rumors? Does someone you know believe it? Are there any huge rumors about Facebook that you have heard? Let us know in the comments!


Contact Us

Feel Free to ask us anything

Copyright © 2012 Liftlikes.com . All rights reserved — Refund Policy - Privacy Policy - Sitemap